What is a KEYWORD search?
Keywords are search terms specific to and will describe your research question. They may not be based on known database terms, and a keyword can be any word associated with your research. Keyword searching will search throughout the record for that specific term used, be sure to search synonyms as well. Keyword search is the default search@uw search.
What is a SUBJECT search?
A subject is a standardized term describing the main topic of an article or book. This type of search will yield more relevant results, and can be used with keywords to narrow a search. One thing to keep in mind, not all ideas have subject term assigned.
A primary source provides direct or firsthand evidence about an event, object, person, or work of art. Primary sources include historical and legal documents, eyewitness accounts, results of experiments, statistical data, pieces of creative writing, audio and video recordings, speeches, and art objects. Interviews, surveys, fieldwork, and Internet communications via email, blogs, listservs, and newsgroups are also primary sources. In the natural and social sciences, primary sources are often empirical studies--research where an experiment was performed or a direct observation was made. The results of empirical studies are typically found in scholarly articles or papers delivered at conferences.
Taken from the Ithaca College Library Research 101 LibGuide
Baraboo Sauk County: T.N. Savides Library Tel: 608.355.5251
Regular Hours: Monday-Thursday 9 AM-4:00 PM & Friday 9 AM-3:00 PM, Closed Saturday and Sunday
Elton S. Karrmann Library Tel: 608.342.1688
Regular Hours: Monday-Thursday 7:30 AM-9:00 PM, Friday 7:30 AM-6:00 PM, Sunday 1:00 PM-9:00 PM
E-mail Us: reference@uwplatt.edu
Keywords and Subject Headings
When conducting research, always consider alternative keywords and subject headings for your topic. Begin by analyzing your topic or research question, and break it down into its key concepts. What keywords appear?
For this course, keywords may include: equal justice; racial profiling; discrimination; injustice; police brutality; juvenile; women; mental illness; education
Subject headings may include: Justice; Discrimination in criminal justice administration - United States; Social justice; Capital punishment; Minorities, Crimes Against; Police Brutality - United States
More Subject Headings:
Click on the SUBJECT HEADINGS listed for those books you find relevant in order to find additional books for that same subject heading.
Do not forget your textbook will have subjects and keywords to use for your research needs, check the table of contents and the index.
You will find books in several areas of the library depending on the topic. Here are some areas to check out in the library stacks:
Class H--Social Sciences
Class J--Political Science
Class K--Law
What is a Citation
Wikipedia defines a citation as a reference to a published or unpublished source. A citation is an abbreviated alphanumeric expression embedded in the body of an intellectual work that denotes an entry in the bibliographic references section of the work for hte purposes of acknowledging the relevance of the works of others to the topic of discussion at the spot where the citation appears.
Common Parts of Citations:
Books include Author(s) or Editor(s), Title, Edition, Publication Date, Publisher and Place of Publication
Articles include Article Title, Author(s), Page Numbers, Periodical Title, Publication Date, Volume and Issue
Citation Tools
Citation Builder available from NC State, based on these citation manuals:
EasyBib (Available in Office 365) offers a variety of tools pertaining to Plagiarism and Grammar. The Office 365 version allows for MLA8, MLA7, APA, and Chicago styles for citations.
ZoteroBib is a free service allowing you to quickly create a bibliography in any citation style, APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, or any of the 9000+ other CSL styles. Zotero can also be used as a Citation Manager, let them be your personal research assistant.
ProQuest and Ebsco Databases have citation tools within the database, formats available in a variety of formats and can save and print them.
NOTE: Tools like these can be used to format and store sources, however, they may not be completely accurate so be sure to double check in a citation manual.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Available at Baraboo Sauk County Library Reserves Collection
Available at Richland Library Reference Collection
Available at Elton S. Elton S. Karrmann Library Reference Collection and Main Collection
Citation Builder can be used to easily format references into the APA Style
Not sure when to use APA? The APA is the American Psychological Association and this style is generally used for scientific writing. Purdue University and the Purdue Online Writing Lab provide a APA Workshop.
Here are some things you may need to cite:
Online Citing Guides
Formatting Your Work
Some More Good Stuff
The Chicago Manual of Style by Citation Builder can be used to easily format references into the APA Style
Not sure when to use Chicago Style? The Chicago Style is generally used in the humanities, most often in history.
Here are some things you may need to cite:
Online Citing Guides
Formatting Your Work
Some More Good Stuff
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369.653 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Available at Baraboo Sauk County Library Reference Collection
Available at Richland Library Reference Collection
Available at Elton S. Elton S. Karrmann Library Reference and Main Collections
Citation Builder can be used to easily format references into the MLA Style
Not sure when to use MLA? The MLA is the Modern Language Association is the most common citation style for writing papers and citing sources within the liberal arts and humanities. Purdue University and the Purdue Online Writing Lab provide a MLA Tutorial.
Here are some things you may need to cite:
Online Citing Guides
Formatting Your Work
There are several other Citation Styles, all depend upon the field in which the material is being written in. Here is a quick listing of other styles and some guidence.
Citations for . . .
Government Documents (Columbia University)
Legal Citation (Cornell University)
Citing Music (UC Press)
Citing Biblical Literature (Society of Biblical Literature)
NOTE: be sure to ask what style you are to use for any written assignments.
Legal Citation is not the same as most are used to when citing sources. Cases, statutes, and decisions all are cited differently and the format guide used in Law Schools and the Legal Profession is the Bluebook Citation Format. The APA follows the Bluebook for citing legal resources, here is some basics for citing legal information.
Is something important missing from this page that you would like to see included? Are there errors or inaccuracies? Contact Librarian Winger, at wingersa@uwplatt.edu. Thank you!
