This may not be an exhaustive list of all databases available pertaining to Ethnicity, Race and Crime be sure to check out the BROWZINE website for electronic journals, the A to Z list for all databases, and do not forget the Search@UW feature on the library home page.
Access to electronic materials may be restricted to University of Wisconsin-Platteville Students, Faculty, and Staff, be sure to login using your UWP username and password for better access, thank you.
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
"Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more."
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Includes the ABI-Inform, Hoover's Company Records and Genderwatch.
Searches 10 databases containing scholarly journals, books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more
"Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. "
Peer Reviewed
New York, NY : Center for Digital Research and Scholarship, Columbia University Libraries/Information Services; Began with vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 2011).; 2011
A citation index can be searched by author,topic or citation.
Social Sciences Citation Index™ contains over 3,400 journals across 58 social sciences disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world’s leading scientific and technical journals. More than 9.37 million records and 122 million cited references date back from 1900 to present.
More assistance in locating library materials can be found on the Library Help Tab.
Online Catalog Searches for Books and More
Searching thesearch@uwsearches for more than books, here are some other places to find books as well
SearchingBROWZINEwill take you to the title list of electronic journals, search by subject, title or browse by subject.
BadgerLink provides Wisconsin residents with access to journal, magazine and newspaper articles, reference materials, and other specialized information sources. BadgerLink is a project of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) Division for Libraries, Technology, and Community Living.
"Contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole."
This resource informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
Includes the following databases: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and the Law; Civil Rights and Social Justice; LGBTQ+ Rights; Open Society Justice Initiative; Gun Regulation and Legislation in America.
Includes the following databases: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law; Civil Rights and Social Justice; LGBTQ+ Rights; Open Society Justice Initiative; Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
"An excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, providing complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more."
Provides indexing for law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. The American Association of Law Libraries endorses LegalTrac, and its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. This database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, and British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Ideal for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, Gale OneFile: LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
Provides access the digital images of every page of 150,000 English-language books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Contains 85+ document projects that interpret and present documents concerning women's involvement in social movements, most of which are not otherwise available online.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
NewspaperARCHIVE is the world's best resource for historical and genealogical information. Our unique archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.
Explore your family tree and discover your history at NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the world's largest online newspaper archive.
Gale's cross-search interface for 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections, Nineteenth Century Collections, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, The Sunday Times Digital Archive, The Times Digital Archive, and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
Global, national, and regional news from more than 13,000 sources in English and many other languages. Features newspaper content in both HTML and PDF-image formats, as well as newswires, magazines, and videos. Updated daily. Includes access to Wisconsin State Journal (1989- current) and UWP's The Exponent since 2012.
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press. This collection includes a rolling 30-day archive of AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State reports.
The following databases include the Newswire database:
Business Source Corporate Plus
Newspaper Source Plus (as well as the complete archive)
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to a dynamic collection (titles are added and removed twice each year) of over 9,000 educational videos and 95,000 video clips. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system.
A growing selection of videos in all academic subject areas. Kanopy provides access to movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos that inspire, enrich and entertain.
If you are using Chrome, it is safe to use this connection. Click on the Advanced button, then click on the link "Proceed to ezproxy.uwplatt.edu (unsafe)" We are working on the problem.
There are more African-Americans under correctional control today—in prison or jail, on probation or parole—than were enslaved in 1850, a decade before the Civil War began. In this...
"The criminal-justice system is, obviously, the sole source of racial tension in this country (USA) or the key institution to resolving the opportunity gap. It is part of the broader set of challenges that we face in creating a more perfect union." -- Barack Obama, President of the United States
Part A: 1929 - 2013 and Part B: 1789-1960. Searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking.
Legislative Insight Collections:
• Legislative Insight 1789-2012 – 27,000 histories
(also available in 2 parts — Legislative Insight A & B)
• Legislative Insight Annual Collections:
From 2013 to Present
A leading international academic publisher in the Humanities and Social Sciences introduces its e-Book collections in the following subject areas: Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, Language and Linguistics, and Social Sciences.
A collection of e-books published by Springer. Fully indexed and searchable to chapter level. Users can access their content from any location and on almost any platform.
NOTE: Access is available only for those titles with the a green square.
