Ethnicity, Race and Crime: Other Resources

Social Justice Resources
This is a collective effort to provide resources from, Information Professionals in various area of Social Justice, so add to this by contacting DICE co-leaders on the SLA member Connect site. This resource is a product of labor by many folks, we thank them for their effort and we have attempted to cite or list creators of these resources. These resources lead you to works that are created by even more folks that have added to our understanding of these issues and the actions behind them.

LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

Research guide from the University at Buffalo University Libraries.

From the Harvard Kennedy School
John F. Kennedy School of Government

An audio series on how slavery has transformed America, connecting past and present through the oldest form of storytelling.

A comprehensive directory of more than 4,500 continually updated law blogs from the American Bar Association

Code Switch is a multi-racial, multi-generational team of NPR journalists who cover race and identity.

Data Bits is the official blog of AAPIData.
Often, the data do not simply speak for themselves. Here, we will occasionally provide infographics and data points that are newsworthy or novel.

Search for blogs dealing with a wide variety of legal aspects.

Justice in America, hosted by Josie Duffy Rice and Clint Smith, is a podcast for everyone interested in criminal justice reform— from those new to the system to experts who want to know more.

"Light and liberty go together"
A blog from the Library of Congress Law Library pertaining to social justice issues

On Pod Save the People, DeRay Mckesson explores news, culture, social justice, and politics with Kaya Henderson and De’Ara Balenger. They offer a unique take on the news, with a special focus on overlooked stories and topics that often impact people of color.

Part of the Law Professor Blogs Network

This podcast is an exploration of diversity, inclusion, and equity and how these things show up, (or don’t) in our personal and professional communities.

AAPI Data is a nationally recognized publisher of demographic data and policy research on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, with hundreds of news mentions in national and local outlets. Our reputation is built on data and research that is accurate, compelling, and timely. In addition to our news impact, community organizations, government agencies, and decisionmakers regularly reach out to us, to better understand key aspects of AAPI communities.

Justice Mapping is a consulting network of subject area experts and information technology specialists who study criminal justice operations and surrounding neighborhood conditions at the local level, both in the U.S. and around the world. We produce maps, reports, data sites, and other data visualization tools designed to help philanthropies, policymakers, and advocates reframe justice policy around places, coordinate operations in neighborhoods, and reinvest in safer communities.

Crime and Justice Atlas

Statistical data representing a comprehensive accounting of people killed by police since 2013. Data sets include Fatal Encounters from the University of Southern California, Police Shootings Database from the Washington Post, and Mapping Police Violence from Campaign Zero.

Map searchable by county and measures the year, age group and racial group of interest.
Data comes from FBI records of nationwide arrests.

The Sentencing Project compiles state-level criminal justice data from a variety of sources. Using the three tabs below, you can navigate between interactive features that allow you to access and use these data. In the State Data Map, you can roll over states for a quick snapshot of key figures from each state and click on any state to see more data. You can also use the dropdown menu to display different datasets on the map. Under Detailed State Data, you can access full datasets for each state and compare states. In State Rankings, you can see how states stack up against each other in different areas.

The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.

The Urban Institute is a nonprofit research organization that provides data and evidence to help advance upward mobility and equity. We are a trusted source for changemakers who seek to strengthen decisionmaking, create inclusive economic growth, and improve the well-being of families and communities. For more than 50 years, Urban has delivered facts that inspire solutions—and this remains our charge today.

The home of the U.S. Government’s open data

The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy with the result of a safer nation. Use the CDE to discover available data through visualizations, download data in .csv format, and other large data files.

As the voice of the community corrections industry, the American Probation and Parole Association (APPA) serves as the field’s leading professional membership association. Our work is supported by thousands of passionate members throughout the U.S. and Canada, as well as other countries actively involved in strengthening community corrections work.

The Council of State Governments (CSG) Justice Center is a national, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that combines the power of a membership association, representing state officials in all three branches of government, with policy and research expertise to develop strategies that increase public safety and strengthen communities.

The Death Penalty Information Center is a national non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. Founded in 1990, the Center promotes informed discussion of the death penalty by preparing in-depth reports, conducting briefings for journalists, and serving as a resource to those working on this issue. The Center releases an annual report on the death penalty, highlighting significant developments and featuring the latest statistics.

The Midwestern Criminal Justice Association is a regional organization affiliated with the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. The purpose of MCJA is to foster communication and collaboration among criminal justice researchers, academics, and practitioners. ​MCJA members include Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and the Canadian Provinces of Manitoba and Saskatchewan.

Research topics and resources on Race & Ethnicity

Our mission is to empower activists, journalists, and policymakers to shape effective criminal justice policy, so we go beyond our original reports and analyses to curate a database of virtually all the empirical criminal justice research available online.

AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press (AP), one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent news gathering.

COLORLINES is a daily news site where race matters, featuring award-winning in-depth reporting, news analysis, opinion and curation.

Search closed captions from US TV News Shows

Available from the National Archives an electronic version of the Code of Federal Regulations or CFR

H.R.7120 - George Floyd Justice in Policing Act of 2020
116th Congress (2019-2020)
This bill addresses a wide range of policies and issues regarding policing practices and law enforcement accountability. It increases accountability for law enforcement misconduct, restricts the use of certain policing practices, enhances transparency and data collection, and establishes best practices and training requirements.

Date: Wednesday, June 10, 2020 - 10:00am
Location: 200 CVC
Oversight Hearing on Policing Practices and Law Enforcement Accountability

H.R.623 — 110th Congress (2007-2008)
Bill summary and status for the Second Chance for Ex-Offenders Act of 2007, a piece of federal legislation on allowing criminal records to be expunged under certain circumstances for certain nonviolent offenders.

From the University of Cincinnati

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

From the Thurgood Marshall Institute
Using Data to Promote Fair and Accountable Policing Practices

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

From the National Institute of Justice, reliable research with real results. The first step in knowing what to do is know what works ... and what hasn't

Part of the United States Department of Justice, the National Institute of Corrections has four divisions: Academy, Community Services, Jail, and Prisons.

Topics include Corrections, Courts, Crime Prevention, Crimes, Juvenile Justice, Justice System Reform, Tribal Crime & Justice.
Data sets and more information available in the Library & Multimedia section.

govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.

govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

The UCR Program consists of four data collections: The National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), the Summary Reporting System (SRS), the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program, and the Hate Crime Statistics Program.

Topics include: Civil Rights, Corrections, Courts, Crime Prevention, Justice System, Juvenile Justice, Research Statistics & Evaluations, Tribal Justice.
Open Data is available in the Data section.

This searchable database includes 1000+ law review articles on Bias and the Law. The 2022 Update included 200+ articles.

Browse any of the topics below to discover relevant content from across the entire suite of ALM legal publications. Stay alerted to recent developments by selecting ‘Follow’ on the results of your selected topic to create a customized alert delivered to your inbox.

This searchable database includes 360+ law review articles on the school-to-prison pipeline. In 2022, 75 additional citations were added from 2021.

"Connect OER is a platform to share and discover information about OER activities at campuses across North America.

Questions to ask about the OER you are thinking of using.

Debunking the top myths about OER in North American higher education.

"A real-time, simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials."

"Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."

OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier by searching multiple sources for OER and other open content at once. OASIS currently searches for open content from 79 different sources and contains approximately 330,000 records.

"A public digital library of open educational resources."

"Tools and resources for educators and subject matter experts in Wisconsin."

Online OER Textbooks.

"We publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print."
NOTE: Instructors or department chairs can contact the Textbook Center at textbookctr@uwplatt.edu or (608) 342-1265 if they would like to view a printed version of an OpenStax text.

College-level OER textbooks available through the University of Minnesota-based Open Education Network.