LibGuides: Civil Engineering: Library Resources

Electronic Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
General Academic Database
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
"Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties - acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more."
ASCE Research Library This link opens in a new window
Journals from the American Society of Civil Engineers, this full-text database contains more than 24,000 journals from 1993 to present. Only journals are available in full text.
ASTM Compass Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A portal for 12,500+ global standards, testing and technical publications. To utilize the personalization tools, users will need to register on the platform.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. PDF page images of full-text articles provide access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content from the original article. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text 2008-2011 only
SAGE publishes over 470 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine.
Browse Journals by Discipline or A to Z
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Web of Science Citation Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded,Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities CitationIndex. Together they index over 8,000 scholarly journals and can be searchedby author, topic or citation.

General Electronic Databases

Librarian

Email Me

Engineering at UW-Platteville

The College of Engineering, Mathematics and Science at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville consists of six departments: Chemistry and Engineering Physics, Mathematics, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Electrical and Software Engineering, General Engineering, and Mechanical and Industrial Engineering. Please contact the individual departments for further information regarding their programs.

Jon Musselman is the Elton S. Karrmann Library's division librarian for the Civil Engineering program. Contact Jon at 608.342.1649 for individualized consultations and/or library instruction sessions in engineering. His email address is musselmj@uwplatt.edu.