LibGuides: Copyright & Education: Home

Electronic Databases

BadgerLink This link opens in a new window
BadgerLink provides Wisconsin residents with access to journal, magazine and newspaper articles, reference materials, and other specialized information sources. BadgerLink is a project of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) Division for Libraries, Technology, and Community Living.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts to journal articles and documents in education. ERIC Thesaurus
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
"An excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, providing complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more."
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal documents at the federal and state level, including court cases, statutes, and secondary legal information.

Print Materials

Coaching Copyright

Available at Karrmann Library Stacks (3rd Floor)

Copyright

Available at Karrmann Library Stacks (3rd Floor)

Copyright for Teachers and Librarians in the 21st Century

Available at Karrmann Library, Curriculum Collection (IML Professional 1st Floor)

The Copyright Handbook

Available at Karrmann Library Reference Collection

Copyright Infringement

Available at Karrmann Library, Stacks (3rd Floor)

Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators

Available at Karrmann Library, Stacks (3rd Floor)

The Essential Guide to Intellectual Property

Available at Karrmann Library Stacks (3rd Floor)

Idea Rights

Available at TN Savides Library, Main Collection

Intellectual Property in Academia

Available at Karrmann Library Stacks (3rd Floor)

Managing Copyright in Higher Education

Available at Karrmann Library Stacks (3rd Floor)

Patent, Copyright and Trademark

Available at Karrmann Library Reference Collection

Video On Copyright

Courses in Copyright

Copyright Law
A free course offered by the University of Pennsylvania.
Courses on Intellectual Property Law
This site provides free public access to two courses on intellectual property developed by Professors William Fisher and Ruth Okediji: CopyrightX and PatentX.
LinkedIn Learning - Copyright and Fair Use
Part of the Information Literacy course. The course can be purchased for $34.99.
LinkedIn Learning - Understanding Copyright: A Deeper Dive
Can be purchased for $29.99.

Contact Us

T.N. Savides Tel: 608.355.5251

Regular Hours: Monday-Thursday 8:30 AM-4:00 PM & Friday 8:30 AM-3:00 PM, Closed Saturday and Sunday

Miller Memorial Tel: 608.647.6186

Regular Hours: Monday-Thursday 8:30 AM-5:00 PM, Closed Friday, Saturday, and Sunday

Karrmann Tel: 608.342.1688

Regular Hours: Monday-Thursday 7:30 AM-11:00 PM, Friday 7:30 AM-6:00 PM, Saturday 1:00 PM-6:00 PM, Sunday 1:00 PM-11:00 PM

E-mail Us: reference@uwplatt.edu

From Education Pages

From EasyBib

Search Tips

When searching for materials pertaining to Copyright here are some key terms to use:

Copyright
Creative Commons
Fair Use
Intellectual Property
Plagiarism
Public Domain

Other topics to search pertaining to copyright include:

Using Photographs
Using Music
Using Videos

Disclaimer

Librarians are not allowed to give legal advice.

This may not be an exhaustive list of all resources available pertaining to Copyright be sure to use Search@UW to find more.

This may not be an exhaustive list of all databases available pertaining to Copyright be sure to check out the Articles and Databases website for more information.

eBook Collections

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of approximately 5000 electronic books that are available to UWP faculty, students, and staff.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over one million ebooks from trusted scholarly sources.
Brill e-Books: Humanities and Social Sciences Collections 2007-2013 This link opens in a new window
A leading international academic publisher in the Humanities and Social Sciences introduces its e-Book collections in the following subject areas: Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, Language and Linguistics, and Social Sciences.
Wiley Online Library (e-books and e-journals) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books in life, health, social, and physical sciences and humanities.

Other UW Library Resources

Copyright

Creative Commons for Educators and Librarians

Defences to Copyright Infringement

Forgotten intellectual property lore : creativity, entrepreneurship and intellectual property

A History of Intellectual Property in 50 Objects

Understanding Intellectual Property Law

UW Platteville Information

Elton S. Karrmann Library Copyright Links
Informational links for UW Platteville Copyright guidelines and other useful resources.

Todd Roll, Library Director is designated as the copyright officer to administer the campus copyright procedures. The copyright officer can help handle any special copyright issues, including questions regarding fair use.

Todd Roll rollt@uwplatt.edu 608.342.1688

Other Libraries

Library of Congress Copyright Guide
LibGuide on Copyright provided by the Library of Congress, information for educational use of materials.
UW Madison Law Library
University of Wisconsin Madison Law Library Public use information, includes copyright information.
more...less...
Librarians are not allowed to give legal advice.
Wisconsin State Law Library
Wisconsin Law Library.
more...less...
Librarians are not allowed to give legal advice.

Student Engagement Librarian

Sara Winger

Email Me

Contact:

Elton S. Karrmann Library, Platteville

608-342-1833

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, History, Humanities, Performing Arts, Social Sciences, Visual Arts